Father-son teams dominate national Roe-D-Hoe competition

Father-son teams dominate national Roe-D-Hoe competition
The top five finishers in the Roe-D-Hoe at the Pumper & Cleaner Environmental Expo International were (left to right, standing) Mike Reading, Bryan White, Josh Reading, Dean Flygare and (kneeling) Darren Flygare.

Interested in Education/Training?

Get Education/Training articles, news and videos right in your inbox! Sign up now.

Education/Training + Get Alerts

It was a family affair two times over at the 2013 National Backhoe Roe-D-Hoe sponsored by the National Onsite Wastewater Recycling Association, as two sets of fathers and sons took four of the five top places. 

Darren Flygare of Flygare Excavating of Annandale, Minn., was crowned the 2013 champion after successfully negotiating the excavator skills competition faster than the other 14 event finalists. Darren, who collected a $1,000 cash prize, finished four spots ahead of his father, Dean, who ended up in fifth place. Earlier this year, Dean was the winner of the Minnesota Onsite Wastewater Association’s Roe-D-Hoe competition. 

In a similar fashion, Josh Reading of M & J Excavating in Monee, Ill., took second place in the contest, while his father, Mike, took the fourth spot. This is the second time in three years that Josh has finished in the money at the national Roe-D-Hoe. 

Bryan White, of C. White & Sons, Seaford, Del., the Delaware Onsite Wastewater Recycling Association Roe-D-Hoe champion, took third place. 

More than 150 machine operators participated in this year’s Roe-D-Hoe across two days of open competition at the 2013 Pumper & Cleaner Environmental Expo International in Indianapolis. Contestants squared off to see who could navigate the three skills games — basketball, golf and bowling — to total the fastest combined time for all three events. Those with the 10 fastest times in the open competition joined with the five state Roe-D-Hoe champions for the finals on the third day of the Roe-D-Hoe. 

Darren Flygare took home the $1,000 cash prize, while Reading and White received $250 and $100, respectively.

The rest of the top 15 finishers were:

  • Avery Zahn, Infra Track, Worthing, S.D.
  • Bob Tiedt, Tiedt Drainage, Inc., Waverly, Iowa
  • Mike Dorrell, Utilities Excavating, Inc., Paola, Kan.
  • Bryon Strawberry, Beckley Sanitary Board, Beckley, W.Va.
  • Jeremy Yates, Sure-Flow Plumbing, Lenexa, Kan.
  • Tim Boswell, Stewart’s Septic, Inwood, W.Va.
  • Paul Debolt, Midstate, Champaign, Ill.
  • Mark Shepard, Utilities Excavating, Inc., Overland Park, Kan.
  • Phil Sloan, BCEO, Middletown, Ohio
  • Vince Sullivan, All American Wastewater, Austin, Texas 


Comments on this site are submitted by users and are not endorsed by nor do they reflect the views or opinions of COLE Publishing, Inc. Comments are moderated before being posted.